Supercomputing in Plain English (SiPE) Seminar Series

Supercomputing in Plain English (SiPE), Spring 2015

Available live in person and live via videoconferencing

http://www.oscer.ou.edu/education/

Tuesdays starting Jan 20 2015, 1:30pm Central Time (3:30pm Atlantic, 2:30pm Eastern, 12:30pm Mountain, 11:30am Pacific)

Live in person: Stephenson Research & Technology Center boardroom, University of Oklahoma, Norman campus

Live via videoconferencing: details to be announced

Registration is open!
(You only need to register once for the whole semester, not for every week.)

Please feel free to share this with anyone who may be interested and appropriate.

So far, the SiPE workshops have reached

  • over 1500 people at
  • 248 institutions, agencies, companies and organizations in
  • 47 US states and territories and 10 other countries
  • 178 academic institutions
  • 29 government agencies
  • 26 private companies
  • 15 not-for-profit organizations

SiPE is targeted at an audience of not only computer scientists but especially scientists and engineers, including a mixture of undergraduates, graduate students, faculty and staff.

These workshops focus on fundamental issues of High Performance Computing (HPC) as they relate to Computational and Data-enabled Science and Engineering (CDS&E), including:

  • overview of HPC;
  • the storage hierarchy;
  • instruction-level parallelism;
  • high performance compilers;
  • shared memory parallelism (e.g., OpenMP);
  • distributed parallelism (e.g., MPI);
  • HPC application types and parallel paradigms;
  • multicore optimization;
  • high throughput computing;
  • accelerator computing (e.g., GPUs);
  • scientific and I/O libraries;
  • scientific visualization.

The key philosophy of the SiPE workshops is that an HPC-based code should be maintainable, extensible and, most especially, portable across platforms, and should be sufficiently flexible that it can adaptto, and adopt, emerging HPC paradigms.

Prerequisite:

1 semester of programming experience and/or coursework in any of Fortan, C, C++ or Java, recently