Supercomputing in Plain English Seminar Series

 

Registration is now open and is free! Send e-mail to hneeman@ou.edu.

 

When & Where


Supercomputing in Plain English (SiPE), Spring 2013


Available live in person and live via videoconferencing



Tuesdays starting Jan 22 2013, 2:00pm Central Time


(4:00pm Atlantic, 3:00pm Eastern, 1:00pm Mountain, 12:00noon Pacific)



Live in person: National Weather Center 1313


Live via FREE videoconferencing: details to be announced



http://www.oscer.ou.edu/education/

 

Description


SiPE is targeted at an audience of not just computer scientists but especially scientists and engineers, including a mixture of undergraduates, graduate students, faculty and staff.



These workshops focus on fundamental issues of HPC as they relate to Computational and Data-enabled Science & Engineering, including:



* the storage hierarchy;


* instruction-level parallelism;


* high performance compilers;


* shared memory parallelism (e.g., OpenMP);


* distributed parallelism (e.g., MPI);


* HPC application types and parallel paradigms;


* multicore optimization;


* high throughput computing;


* GPGPU computing;


* scientific and I/O libraries;


* scientific visualization.



The key philosophy of the SiPE workshops is that an HPC-based code should be maintainable, extensible and, most especially, portable across platforms, and should be sufficiently flexible that it can adapt to, and adopt, emerging HPC paradigms.

 


Prerequisites



* For the presentations:



-- at least one semester of programming experience in any of C, C++ or Fortran, recently.



* For the HPC exercises:



-- at least one semester of programming experience in any of C, C++ or Fortran, recently;



-- at least one semester of experience with any Unix-like operating system (could be Linux but doesn't have to be), recently (if someone doesn't have this, it's not a crisis, because the basics are covered in the first exercise).